Content

How to Manage Groups and Projects in Redmine

The following is a detailed guide on how to manage groups and projects in Redmine.

Managing Groups

In Redmine, administrators can define user groups. Just like regular users, groups can be added as project members utilizing the same roles (a role is basically a collection of various permissions. It enables you to define the permissions members have on a particular project) as well.

The user inherits all of the privileges of the group when adding it to a current group.

How to Create Groups?

Observe the following steps in order to create a group:

  1. Click on “Administration”.
  2. Click on “Groups”.
  3. Click on “New Group” and type your group’s name in "Name".
  4. Click on “Create”.

How to Add Associating Projects and Members?

Follow these steps in order to add members in a group

  1. Click on Administration -> Groups.
  2. Click the Group’s name that you wish to alter.
  3. Here, you will observe three different tabs: Users, General, and Projects.

image015

Users

  1. Add users by checking the box of "username" for every user.
  2. Press on "Add".

General

Alter name by editing the "Name" field.

Projects

  1. From the pop-up menu, select a project.
  2. Set the Role and press on "Add".

image016

Managing Projects

Managing projects include closing projects, editing a project, archiving projects, copying an existing project, and deleting a project. You can do most of these things from a project list.

Projects list

By default, the projects list shows all the active projects. Switch the status filter to “All” to view all the projects (archived and active projects).

Bear in mind that there is a project list for standard users as well, which you can access by clicking “Projects” in the top menu. Non-administrators can start new projects (and close these projects as well) on this project list. This presented project list might be the only place to manage projects depending on user permissions.

The featured columns include:

  • Project: Name of the project
  • Description: A brief description of the project
  • Created: Indicates the date in which the project was created
  • Public: The project is public if the “green pipe” icon is present and is visible to everyone who might do things that are only allowed by roles Anonymous and Non-member. (the former is a specific role that enables you to define permissions which anonymous users have on projects whereas Non-member role enables you to define a registered user’s permissions on specific projects that he or she is not a member of). Only a user who was given access by the project’s administrator can view non-public projects.

This picture is a visual demonstration of the above.

image017

How to Close a Project?

Closing a project sets a particular project to a state that is read-only. You can still access a closed project like a regular project. However, you cannot change anything anymore, so it is read-only.

The link allowing you to close a project is available on the basis of every project in the project’s Overview screen itself. It is not part of the project list (which is demonstrated above).

How to Archive a Project?

Click on the Archive icon from the list of projects to archive a particular project.

A project that is archived is no longer visible by individuals. Only the administrator can un-archive the said project. Any subproject is archived as well when archiving a certain project.

How to Copy an Existing Project?

Click on the Copy icon (from the projects list) present on the right of the project that you wish to copy.

You will get the prefilled new project form containing the copied project’s settings (such as custom fields, trackers, etc.). You can select what should also be copied to your new project (such as Forums, Wiki pages, Versions, Members, etc.) at the bottom part of the form.

image018

How to Delete a Project?

Click on the Trash icon from the projects list, after which you will have to re-confirm on a separate screen.

This deletes the entire project, including subprojects. As opposed to Archive, you cannot restore a deleted project after it has been deleted.

 

Author: Sa Bal, Lukáš Beňa

Additional information
Free Trial

Easy Redmine 10 upgrade
Top plugins & features
New & mobile design
Server upgrades
Global cloud

Start Free Trial

Try Easy Redmine in a 30-day free trial

Full-featured, 30 Days, SSL protected, Daily Backups, In your Geo Location

or