Content

Project chat (instant messages)

Chat

How to use Project chat (instant messages)

The video tutorial

Project chat is an instant messaging tool (plugin) available for both Easy Redmine and generic Redmine. If you demand effective teamwork and collaboration, this extension is kind of necessity for you.

 

Table of contents

How to purchase and (un)install the plugin

How to (de)activate the plugin and enable/disable it for user roles

How to use the plugin

Corner situations

 

How to purchase and (un)install the plugin

In Easy Redmine, the plugin is already included in the basic project management package, therefore, it's not required to purchase or install any additional plugin. In generic Redmine, the feature needs to be purchased and installed as an additional plugin using the Client zone. The instructions for (un)installation of the plugin can be found here.

 

How to (de)activate the plugin and enable/disable it for user roles

The plugin is activated by default. However, if you want to deactivate it, go to More: Administration: Plugins: Other: Project chat and click on "Deactivate plugin" button is illustrated below.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 01.jpg

In order to allow or prohibit selected user roles from using the project chat feature, go to More: Administration: Roles and permissions: select a role and then tick or untick "Project chat" checkbox and save the change as illustrated below.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 02.jpg

In generic Redmine, it looks like this.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 03.jpg

 

How to use the plugin

When the plugin is activated and enabled for your user role, you should see the specific chat icon in the sidebar as shown below. Clicking on it will open the list of recent conversations you´ve had with other users. To start chatting with a new user, just type his name into the search field and press "Enter" key or click on the magnifier icon on the right. In Easy Redmine, there is extra information about user status next to each user's name indicating whether he/she is currently online, offline, at home office, on vacation etc. (this is not available in generic Redmine). A bit more on the right, there is a timestamp indicating how long time has passed since your last conversation with the user. Clicking on any user in the list will open a conversation window.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 04.jpg

In generic Redmine, it looks like this.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 05.jpg

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 06.jpg

When a new message arrives, the chat icon turns red, starts flashing and showing the number of new messages as illustrated below.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 07.gif

Below you see how such a conversation window looks like. Clicking on any username or profile photo will show profile information of the particular user. To see full conversation history, click on the history icon on the right from the username. Every single message is completed with a timestamp indicating day and time of the message. Down in the chat box, type a message for the user and press "Enter" key or click on the arrow icon to send it. To close the conversation window, just click on the cross icon in the top right corner. In addition to a graphical symbol on the chat icon, each incoming message is accompanied by a sound signal and pop-up notification in all modern browsers able to show such notifications from websites.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 08.jpg

In generic Redmine, it looks like this.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 09.jpg

This is how it looks like when you open full conversation history with a particular user. It's easy to search through it using CTRL+F.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 10.jpg

In generic Redmine, it looks like this.

Easy Redmine 2018 Chat 11.jpg

 

Corner situations

If you work in multiple windows or tabs, chat behavior may be non-standard. The chat should notify you in one window/tab only in order to prevent from an avalanche of notifications from every single window/tab separately and without the need to close any of them. But if you start to write from a different window/tab, some messages may be hidden there.

Easy Redmine 2019 Free Trial

Full-featured, 30 Days, SSL protected, Daily Backups, In your Geo Location

or